Board of Directors

The NWTAC Board is comprised of a President, two Vice Presidents and four Directors. The President is elected at large from the entire membership. A Vice President and two Directors are elected from each of two caucuses, one representing members from the Cities/Towns and Villages and the other representing members from Hamlets/Settlements/Charter Communities. The President and Vice Presidents are elected on odd-numbered years and the Directors are elected on even numbered years. All sit for two-year terms. The NWTAC’s Chief Executive Officer and the President of the Local Government Administrators of the NWT (LGANT) sits as an ex-officio member of the NWTAC Board.


  Councilor Clarence Wood – Town of Inuvik

A 20 year member of Inuvik Town Council with 16 years service on the NWTAC Board, Clarence is also the Board Chairman of Western Arctic Business Development Corporation. He serves on the NWT Appeal Boards for both Income Assistance and Student Financial Assistance as well.  Clarence has served on numerous Boards over the years.


Vice President – Cities, Towns and Villages 

Councillor Brenda Tuckey – Town of Fort Smith

Brenda Tuckey was born and raised in Fort Smith, NT. She has a Bachelor of Education Degree through the  University of Saskatchewan’s iTEP program at Aurora College.  Before deciding to run as town Counsellor, Brenda had explored many volunteer roles within the community such as Registration chair, Vice-President & President of the Fort Smith Skating Club, Vice-President of the NWT Figure Skating Association and Drop the Pop Co-ordinator at JBT Elementary School.  Brenda was elected onto town council in the Fall of 2015 and is the Chair of the Community services committee and Vice-Chair of the Fort Smith Housing Authority.

Vice President – Hamlets, Settlements and Charter or Tlicho Community Governments

Ray-Ruben-SrMayor Raymond Ruben Sr.Hamlet of Paulatuk 
First elected Mayor of Paulatuk in 2004 (and most recently acclaimed in October 2012) after serving on Hamlet Council since the 1980s, Mayor Ray Ruben Sr. was an alternate NWTAC director before being named a director in late 2008. He has also served on the Paulatuk Community Corporation Board

Directors – Cities/Towns/Villages

Mayor Mark Heyck – City of Yellowknife

Mayor Mark Heyck was born and raised in Yellowknife and grew up in the Con Mine area of the City. He has a Bachelor of Arts Degree in History from McGill University in Montreal. Mayor Heyck previously worked at the Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre as the Website and Multimedia Coordinator.

Mayor Heyck was first elected to City Council in 2003 and served as Deputy Mayor from 2006 to 2012. During his time on Council, Mayor Heyck chaired the City’s Heritage Committee and Community Energy Planning Committee. From 2007 to 2017, he served as a member of the Federation of Canadian Municipalities’ Green Municipal Fund Council. Mayor Heyck currently represents Cities, Towns and Villages of the Northwest Territories on the NWT Association of Communities Board of Directors. Mayor Heyck was elected as Yellowknife’s 14th Mayor in the fall of 2012 and was re-elected in 2015.


Donna Lee Jungkind

Deputy Mayor Donna Lee Jungkind – Town of Hay River

Donna Lee (Demarcke) Jungkind was first elected to Hay River Town Council in 1999, and served a three year term. After taking time away from politics to focus on her career and family, Donna Lee again ran successfully for Council in 2012 and 2015. The General Manager of Aurora Ford for 26 years, she has served as Deputy Mayor of Hay River since 2013.


Directors – Hamlets, Settlements and Charter or Tlicho Community Governments

Councillor Ryan YakeleyaHamlet of Tuktoyaktuk

Mr Ryryan Yak photoan Yakeleya has lived his entire life in Tuktoyaktuk. He was elected to the Hamlet Council in January 2017 and has been a dedicated employee at E.Gruben’s Transport for many years. Recently elected to the NWTAC Board of Directors, Mr Yakeleya hopes to contribute to the wellness and betterment of his community and future generations of the NWT.  In his free time he enjoys all types of sports and meeting new people.


Councilor Joe Lalonde – Hamlet of Enterprise


Sara BrownSara Brown

Executive Director, NWT Association of Communities
Tel. (867) 873-8359
Fax (867) 873-3042 E-mail: