Community Builder Awards & Healthy Community Award

The Community Builder Awards are sponsored by the AON. 

Award Categories

Community Builder Award

This award recognizes a past or current Elected Official who has provided exemplary leadership on council and in his or her community.


  • Must be, or have been, an elected official of an NWTAC Member Community
  • Must be nominated by an NWTAC Member Community in Good Standing


  • Must be active in community organizations outside of their duties on council
  • Must be responsible for innovation in how the council/community government operates.

Community Service Award

This award recognizes an individual, an organization, or a business that has demonstrated exemplary service to Member Communities in the NWT. This could be in the area of infrastructure development, volunteerism, youth development or other significant contributions.


  • Has made a significant contribution in improving the well-being of a NWT community and its residents.

Roll of Honour (Long Service)

Elected Officials who have served for 15 years or longer on a Member Community Government are eligible to be named to the NWTAC’s Roll of Honour.


  • Served on a Member Community Government for at least 15 years.

Please download the Guidelines and Form for the Community Builder Award, Community Service Award and the Roll of Honour -Long Service Award- HERE!


Healthy Community Award 

The aim of the Healthy Community Award is to celebrate an NWT community that
encourages and supports residents in adopting healthy lifestyle choices by providing
programs promoting physical activities, nutrition and social connections that foster
positive mental health. The award is sponsored by the GNWT Department of Health and Social Services and the community who wins this award receives $5000.00 to go towards a healthy initiative in your community.

Please Download Guidelines and Form for the Healthy Community Award HERE!.!

To submit a nomination for a 2018 Community Builder Award or the Health Community Award, please contact Yvonne Fleming at 867.873.8359 or


Each year, the NWTAC recognizes outstanding contributions to communities of the territory.

In 2019, the following awards were presented at the Annual General Meeting:

Community Service Award:   Signed and QBE

Long Service Award:   Lloyd Chicot, Mark Heyck and Jimmy B. Mantla
NWTAC Community Builder Award:   Dan Schofield of Yellowknife
Healthy Community Award- Tsiigehtchic Charter Community


In 2018, the following awards were presented at the Annual General Meeting:

Community Service Award:  Jason Coakwell and Billy & Bertha Gruben

Long Service Award:  Mike Maher
NWTAC Presidents Award- Ron Dennill
Healthy Community Award- Tlicho Community Government of Gameti


In 2017, the following awards were presented at the Annual General Meeting:

Community Service Award: Kopy Kat North

Long Service Award: Tony Green ( Paulatuk)
NWTAC Presidents Award- Government of the Northwest Territories -Health and Social Services
NEW   Healthy Community Award- Hamlet of Aklavik


The 2016 NWTAC Award winners were:

Community Builder Award: MP Michael McLeod
Community Service Award: Up Here Magazine
Long Service Award: Jimmy Rabesca (Whati)
Long Service Award: Tom Wilson (Fort Simpson)
Service Recognition: Yvonne Fleming – 25 years
Service Recognition: Cynthia Horton – 15 years


The 2015 NWTAC Awards winners were:

Community Builder Award – Garrett Ruben
Community Service Award – NWT Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (SPCA)
NWTAC President’s Award – Government of the Northwest Territories Department of Municipal and Community Affairs (MACA)


The 2014 NWTAC Awards winners were:

Community Builder Award—Charlie Scarborough

Community Service Award—John McKee

President’s Award—Deline Gotine Government

Roll of Honour for Long Service

Yellowknife Councillor Bob Brooks

Fort Providence Mayor Tina Gargan

Paulatuk Mayor Raymond Ruben St.

Inuvik Councillor Clarence Woods

You can download an Overview of the Awards presentation background.